Aventon Pace 500.3 Specs: Discontinued, What Aventon Lists

Affiliate disclosure: Electric Ride Reviews is reader-supported. As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases, and we may earn a commission when you buy through links on our site, at no extra cost to you. This never affects our reviews or recommendations.

The Aventon Pace 500.3 was a 500W commuter with a torque sensor, a rigid frame and a mid-size battery. It is also a discontinued model. Aventon’s US product addresses for it now redirect to other pages, and the only manufacturer page that still renders is the Canadian listing for the step-through version, which carries discontinued and end-of-life tags and shows no inventory in any variant. This guide reads what that page publishes, so prices are in Canadian dollars and the specifications are for the step-through frame. Aventon’s step-over specification page could not be retrieved, so nothing here should be assumed for the step-over version.

Found this useful? Send it to someone who needs it.

How this review was produced: we do not buy or test the products we cover. This is a desk analysis of manufacturer specifications, manuals and documentation, safety and certification listings, and publicly available owner reports and third-party reviews. Figures are manufacturer claims or reported owner results.

A discontinued bike matters mostly to two kinds of buyer: someone eyeing a used Pace 500.3, and an owner who needs parts. For both, the specification sheet tells you what you are looking at, and the replacement battery below is the part owners most often ask about.

ShunTongDa 48V 14Ah Replacement Battery for Aventon Pace 500.2/500.3
ShunTongDa 48V 14Ah Replacement Battery for Aventon Pace 500.2/500.3

An aftermarket 672Wh pack listed for the Pace 500.2 and 500.3. The listing does not claim UL certification, so confirm fit and certification before buying, or use Aventon’s own pack.

Check Price on Amazon › As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

What Aventon Publishes for the Pace 500.3 Step-Through

  • Motor: 48V brushless rear-hub, 500W sustained and 864W peak (Aventon does not state torque in Nm on the page)
  • Class and speed: Class 2 in the specification table; the page describes a 28 mph top speed, and its FAQ gives the throttle-only maximum as 20 mph. Product tags also mention Class 3, but only as a tag, not in the spec text
  • Battery: 48V, 12.8Ah, listed as 614Wh, LG cells, UL 2849 compliant; the FAQ gives the battery weight as 7.5 lb
  • Claimed range: up to 60 miles, with no test conditions stated
  • Charger: 48V, 3 Amp fast charger. Aventon’s page does not give a charge time
  • Sensor and assist: double-sided bottom bracket torque sensor, 4 pedal assist levels, plus a handlebar throttle
  • Weight and load: 54 lbs with the battery; total weight limit 300 lbs
  • Fit: step-through frame for riders from 4’11” to 6’1″, in Regular and Large sizes; non-folding single-butted aluminum alloy
  • Running gear: Shimano 8-speed with a 12-32T cassette and 48T crankset, 27.5 x 2.1 puncture-resistant tires with reflective sidewalls, hydraulic brakes (rotor size not stated), rigid fork with no suspension
  • Cockpit and lights: LCD Smart Easy Read display, integrated front and rear lights
  • Warranty: 2 years on Aventon-branded frames, components and batteries per the FAQ, with a lifetime frame warranty badge on the page

Reading the 60-Mile Range Claim

Aventon says up to 60 miles and gives no rider weight, assist level, terrain or temperature. Those conditions decide the result, and the claim reads as a best case. The arithmetic that follows is only a way to put the number in context.

Aventon lists 614Wh of battery. Spread over 60 miles, that is about 10 Wh per mile, an energy use that is only plausible at low assist on flat ground with a light load. If a rider instead averaged an assumed 20 Wh per mile, which is a plainly illustrative figure and not an Aventon number, the same battery would cover roughly 30 miles. Hills, headwinds, cold weather, a heavier rider and higher assist levels all push a bike toward the second figure, not the first.

The takeaway for a commuter is to plan on a fraction of the claim. A modest round trip is likely comfortable on paper; a round trip near the claimed maximum is not something the specification supports.

Motor, Torque Sensor and Speed

The 500W sustained rating with an 864W peak is typical of a commuter hub motor. What stands out on the Pace 500.3 is the double-sided bottom bracket torque sensor. A torque sensor scales motor output with how hard you pedal, which usually feels more natural than a cadence sensor that simply switches power on once the cranks turn. Aventon pairs it with four assist levels, so the rider chooses how much help to take, and a throttle is also fitted.

The speed figures need care. The page describes 28 mph, while the throttle alone stops at 20 mph and the specification table says Class 2. In US class terms, Class 2 means throttle assist up to 20 mph, so 28 mph would only be reachable with pedaling. Because the page does not reconcile these figures and the Class 3 mention is only a tag, a buyer who cares about the class should confirm it for the specific unit rather than rely on the listing.

Charging

Aventon publishes the charger rating, 48V at 3 Amps, but not a charge time. Multiplying the two gives 144W of charger output. Dividing the 614Wh battery by 144W gives about 4.3 hours as an ideal minimum, ignoring charging losses and the slower final stage most lithium packs use. Treat that as a floor, not a promise: a real charge from empty will take longer. For commuting, the practical point is that an overnight charge refills the battery, and a pack that is only partly drained needs much less time.

Weight, Payload and Fit

At 54 lbs with the battery, the Pace 500.3 step-through is a mid-weight commuter. Aventon puts the battery at 7.5 lb, so the bike without it is about 46.5 lbs. Removing the battery helps when you carry the bike up steps, though the frame does not fold, so storage in a small apartment depends on having floor space or a hallway.

The 300 lb total weight limit covers rider and cargo together. A rider near that limit should remember that load also reduces range and puts more demand on the motor on hills. For fit, Aventon lists the step-through for 4’11” to 6’1″ riders in two frame sizes. The low step-over is the main reason to choose this frame: it is easier to mount with a bag, in work clothes, or with limited hip mobility.

Components and Ride Quality

The running gear is sensible rather than special. A Shimano 8-speed drivetrain with a 12-32T cassette gives a modest gear spread that suits city grades. Hydraulic brakes are a good sign for a bike that can reach 20 mph on the throttle, although Aventon does not state the rotor size. The 27.5 x 2.1 tires are puncture resistant and fairly narrow, so they favor smooth pavement. With a rigid fork and no suspension, a rider on rough streets should expect to feel the surface. Integrated lights and an LCD display are useful for commuting after dark.

Who the Pace 500.3 Suits, and Who Should Skip It

On paper it suits a rider who wants a straightforward commuter with a torque sensor and a throttle, who values an easy step-through frame, and who is shopping the used market or already owns one. It is a reasonable fit for flat or moderately hilly commutes of modest length.

Skip it if you need a folding bike, suspension, a published charge time, or a bike you can still buy new from Aventon in the US. Anyone buying used should also ask how old the battery is, because pack condition drives the bike’s value, and should check what warranty coverage, if any, transfers to a second owner. Aventon’s own warranty terms should be confirmed directly, since the page shows 2 years for the original buyer.

Replacement Batteries and Parts

Because the model is discontinued, owners who need a new pack have two paths: an Aventon pack, if the company still supplies one for this model, or an aftermarket pack. The aftermarket listing shown above says it does not claim UL certification. Aventon’s own battery is listed as UL 2849 compliant. Safety certification is the practical difference to weigh, since a lithium pack that is charged at home is worth buying from a certified source. Confirm fit and connector compatibility before ordering either.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is the Aventon Pace 500.3 still sold?

Not new from Aventon. The Canadian page tags it discontinued and end of life, and every variant shows zero inventory. Aventon’s US addresses for it redirect to other pages, though Aventon does not name a replacement.

What is the battery size?

Aventon lists a 48V, 12.8Ah battery rated at 614Wh, with LG cells and UL 2849 compliance.

How far will it go on a charge?

Aventon claims up to 60 miles without stating conditions. Using an assumed 20 Wh per mile, the 614Wh battery would cover roughly 30 miles, so real trips will likely fall well below the claim.

Is it a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike?

The specification table says Class 2. Product tags also list Class 3, but that appears only as a tag, so confirm the class on the actual unit.

Does the frame fold, and how heavy is it?

It does not fold. Aventon lists 54 lbs with the battery, and 7.5 lb of that is the battery.

Bottom Line

On paper the Pace 500.3 is a capable step-through commuter: a 500W motor, a torque sensor, a 614Wh battery and hydraulic brakes, held to a 300 lb limit. The 60-mile claim is a best case with no stated conditions, and the model can no longer be bought new from Aventon. If you are looking at a used one, judge the battery first and the rest second.

Found this useful? Send it to someone who needs it.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top
© 2026 Electric Ride Reviews  |  Affiliate Disclosure  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms  |  About
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
© 2026 Electric Ride Reviews — About  |  Affiliate Disclosure  |  Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use
As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.